Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte, capital of Sri Lanka

  • Time of the basis:
  • Population:
  • Area:
  • Monetary unit:
  • 1517
  • 115,8 thousand persons
  • of 36,5 sq. km
  • Sri Lankan rupee ( notes and coins )

The state Sri Lanka has at once two capitals - actual and administrative. Official languages too two - Tamil and Singhalese. The population large part professes the Buddhism. The administrative capital of the state - a Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte - represents one of the largest cities in the country.

a Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte - capital of Sri Lanka

The City-port of Colombo is actual (financial) capital of Sri Lanka. It has been erected by Portugueses at-sight small port settlement and initially represented large defensive strength. The famous places of interest of Colombo are: churches (Sacred Ljuchii, Sacred Peter, Sacred Andrey); mosques (Afar Dzhumma, Davatagaha); monasteries (Petah, Gotha, Kochchikade, Dipaddutaramajja, Kotahena, Vajdzhjaramara, Bambalappitija and Bihar); and also a significant amount of museums.

the Flag a Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte, capitals of Sri Lanka

Official a flag the Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte represents a squared panel of beige (white) colour. The central and main figure of a flag possessed in the centre, the plotting of a mythical animal with a body of a lion and a head of a dragon is. The being is represented in a profile, in a forward right paw it keeps the long lash. On cloth perimetre (with a small space from edges) there passes a wide strip on which the national ornament consisting of leaves of red and blue colours is represented.

The coat of arms cities officially are not confirmed.