The city of Luxembourg

  • Time of the basis:
  • Population:
  • Area:
  • Monetary unit:
  • of 963
  • 454 thousand persons
  • of 51,73 sq. km
  • Euro ( notes and coins )

Luxembourg - capital of the small state Luxembourg possessed in the Western Europe. The city places in a place of merge of the rivers Petrjus and Alzet (southern inflow of Sjura). During prehistoric times this region has been populated with Celts. From V century over this territory francs dominated. For the first time the city possessed at-sight of present capital, has been mentioned in historical documents in 963 (during the same time the state - a county Luxembourg has been formed, in XIV century turned to duchy), however the city rights have been granted Luxembourg only in 1244 For centuries of the existence the city was under the power of the different countries - Spain, France, Austria, and in days of the First and Second world wars - Germany. Independence of Luxembourg has been recognised in 1815

the City of Luxembourg - capital of Luxembourg

Now Luxembourg represents the developed capital city which is considered as one of most expensive on territory of Europe. The river Alzet divides a city on Top and bottom which incorporate among themselves numerous bridges. Thus the Top city represents ancient urban strength in which territory the set of architectural monuments is possessed. The bottom city - administrative and industrial centre of capital of the country. Townsmen are divided on two ethnic groups - French and German which languages admit as equal in rights. There is also the Luxembourg language formed as a result of mixture of a dialect of German language with French.

the Flag of a city of Luxembourg, capital of Luxembourg

the Flag cities of Luxembourg represents a rectangular panel of white colour, with the stylised plotting of a lion of dark blue (azure) colour in the centre. The head of a lion is crowned with a crown of gold (yellow) colour. Cloth proportions make 3: 5.

the Municipal arm of Luxembourg, capital of Luxembourg

The coat of arms cities of Luxembourg represent a heraldic board of the traditional English form which field is divided on 10 alternating horizontally possessed equal strips on width - 5 silver and 5 dark blue. On a board the stylised plotting of the red lion standing on hinder legs which head is topped by a gold royal crown is seated. The lion is present and on the coat of arms of the country and is an ancient emblem of dukes Burgundian. This symbol in heraldry of the European countries traditionally is understood as an embodiment of courage, bravery and pride. The crown on a head at a lion symbolises the power over citizens and indicates the metropolitan status of a city.